Candidates file for August primary

During the first week of candidate filing for the Aug. 7 primary election, these candidates had filed with the Ozark County Clerk’s Office as of noon Monday: John Turner, presiding commissioner (incumbent); Brian Wise, county clerk (incumbent); Phyllis Gaulding Turner, county treasurer (incumbent); Becki Strong, circuit clerk and recorder (incumbent); Darla Sullivan, county collector; John Garrabrant, prosecuting attorney (incumbent) and John Russo, prosecuting attorney; Cynthia MacPherson, associate circuit judge (incumbent) and Ray Gross, associate circuit judge.
The Missouri Secretary of State’s website shows that these candidates have filed for state and federal offices:
44th Judicial Circuit Judge: Craig Carter (incumbent).
Missouri state representative, 155th District: Karla Eslinger and Mike Lind; both filed as Republicans.
U.S. representative, District 8: Jason Smith, Republican (incumbent); Kathy Ellis, Democrat; Jonathan L. Shell, Libertarian.
U.S. senator: Republican candidates: Tony Monetti, Austin Petersen, Josh Hawley, Fred Ryman, Christina Smith, Kristi Nichols, Bradley Krembs, Ken Patterson, Brian G. Hagg. Democratic candidates: Carla Coffee Wright, Angelica Earl, Leonard Joseph Steinman II, John Hogan, Travis Gonzalez, David Faust. Libertarian candidate: Japheth Camp-bell. (Note: Although incumbent U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill is actively campaigning for re-election, she had not yet filed at press time Tuesday. Filing must be done in person at the secretary of state’s office, and it’s assumed she has been in Washington, D.C., since the filing period opened Feb. 27.)
The filing period for the August primary continues until 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 27.

Ozark County Times

504 Third Steet
PO Box 188
Gainesville, MO 65655

Phone: (417) 679-4641
Fax: (417) 679-3423