Candidate list finalized for August 7 primary

Candidate filing for the Aug. 7 primary election ended last week on March 27. These Republican candidates will be running in contested Ozark County races:
Ozark County presiding commissioner: John Turner (incumbent), Gainesville, and Seth Smith of Isabella.
Ozark County prosecuting attorney: John Garrabrant (incumbent), Tecumseh, and John Russo, Gainesville.  
Associate circuit judge: Cynthia MacPherson (incumbent), Pontiac,  and Ray Gross, Gainesville.
These incumbents will be running unopposed in Ozark County races: Brian Wise, county clerk; Phyllis Gaulding Turner, county treasurer; and Becki Strong, circuit clerk and recorder.
In addition, Darla Sullivan will be running unopposed for county collector after long-time county collector Billy Hambelton recently announced that he will retire at the end of his current term.
The Missouri Secretary of State’s website shows these candidates have filed for the following state and federal offices:
44th Judicial Circuit Judge: Craig Carter (incumbent), running unopposed.
Missouri state representative, 155th District: Karla Eslinger of Wasola, Mike Lind of Thornfield and Jack Clemans of Bradleyville; all filed as Republicans.
U.S. representative, District 8: Jason Smith of Cape Girardeau (incumbent), Republican; Kathy Ellis of Festus, Democrat; Jonathan L. Shell of Fredericktown, Libertarian.
U.S. senator: Republican candidates who filed are Tony Monetti of Warrensburg, Austin Petersen of Peculiar, Josh Hawley of Columbia, Fred Ryman and Christina Smith, both of Jefferson City, Kristi Nichols of Independence, Bradley Krembs of St. Charles, Ken Patterson of Eureka, Brian G. Hagg of Aurora, Courtland Sykes of Independence and Peter Pfeifer of Ballwin. Democratic candidates: Carla (Coffee) Wright and Angelica Earl, both of St. Louis, Leonard Joseph Steinman II of Jefferson City, John Hogan of St. Charles, Travis Gonzalez of Maryville, David Faust of Raymore and Claire McCaskill of St. Louis (incumbent). The Libertarian candidate is Japheth Campbell of Springfield. Green party candidates are Jo Crain of Kansas City and Jerome Bauer of St. Louis.

Ozark County Times

504 Third Steet
PO Box 188
Gainesville, MO 65655

Phone: (417) 679-4641
Fax: (417) 679-3423